Betty J. Dong receives Daniel B. Smith Practice Excellence Award for exceptional career

Betty J. Dong, PharmD ’72, is the recipient of the 2019 Daniel B. Smith Practice Excellence Award from the American Pharmacists Association (APhA) for her trailblazing career in clinical pharmacy and her “superb teaching and on-the-mark clinical guidance around drug therapy” to pharmacy and medical students, and residents.

Kortemme and Desai honored at annual meeting of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering

Two UCSF School of Pharmacy faculty members, Tanja Kortemme, PhD, and Tejal Desai, PhD, were elected into prestigious roles at the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE) this month. Kortemme was inducted into the AIMBE College of Fellows, and Desai, who is both a current fellow and the chair of the College of Fellows, was named the president-elect of the AIMBE.

Harold S. Luft Mentoring Award 2018

We are delighted to announce that Margot Kushel, MD has been selected as this year's recipient of the Harold S. Luft Award for Mentoring in Health Services and Health Policy Research, awarded by the Philip R. Lee Institute for Health Policy Studies.

Patricia O'Sullivan Receives 2018 UCSF Lifetime Mentoring Award

Patricia “Pat” O’Sullivan, EdD, has been named the 2018 recipient of the UCSF Lifetime Achievement in Mentoring Award. Each year, the UCSF Faculty Mentoring Program – part of the Campus Council on Faculty Life – presents the award to one senior faculty member who best embodies the principles and practice of mentorship.

2018 Founders Day Awards Honor Public Service, Extraordinary Contributions

Eleven faculty, staff and students were honored for their public service, excellence in nursing and exceptional service to UC San Francisco at this year’s UCSF Founders Day Awards Luncheon.

Judy Young, MPH receives Chancellor’s Award for Dr. MLK, Jr. Leadership

Judy Young, MPH, is the associate director of the National Center of Excellence (CoE) in Women’s Health, where she works tirelessly on both the individual and institutional levels to promote a diverse workforce, enhance the culture of inclusion, and improve the equity of opportunity for all at UCSF.

Diversity Champions Honored with 2017 Chancellor Diversity Awards

UC San Francisco’s 2017 Chancellor Diversity Awards honored 13 individuals who are leaders, activists and pioneers in the fields and communities that they serve for their work toward advancing equity and inclusion.

Diana Greene Foster receives 2017 Robert A. Hatcher Family Planning Mentor Award

ANSIRH Director of Research, Diana Greene Foster, received the 2017 Robert A. Hatcher Family Planning Mentor Award by the Society of Family Planning at this year’s North American Forum on Family Planning.

3 UCSF Researchers Named 2017 Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science

Three UC San Francisco researchers, Deanna Kroetz, PhD, Neil Richard Powe, MD, MPH, MBA, and Terumi Kohwi-Shigematsu, PhD, have been selected as fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world’s largest general scientific society and publisher of Science and three other peer-reviewed journals.

UCSF Cancer Researcher Leads Team to Win First Ever AI Genomics Hackathon

A UC San Francisco cancer researcher, Jyotika ‘Jo’ Varshney, DVM, PhD, has led a team of data scientists and engineers to win a first-of-its-kind Artificial Intelligence (AI) Genomics Hackathon competition.

Two UCSF Women Scientists Win NIH New Innovator Awards

The National Institutes of Health (NIH) has awarded grants to two UC San Francisco researchers, Eleni Linos, MD, DrPH and Anna Molofsky, MD, PhD to pursue innovative approaches to major contemporary challenges in biomedical research.

Ruth Greenblatt, MD Delivers 17th Annual Faculty Research Lectureship in Clinical Science

Ruth Greenblatt, MD, was selected by her peers on the Academic Senate’s Committee on Research (COR) as the seventeenth annual Faculty Research Lectureship (FRL) recipient in Clinical Science. Greenblatt is a Professor Emeritus in the UC San Francisco Department of Clinical Pharmacy, where she chaired the UCSF School of Pharmacy Faculty Council

2 UCSF Faculty Elected to the National Academy of Medicine for 2017

A clinician-scientist, Daniel Lowenstein, MD and a cardiologist from UC San Francisco, Rita Redberg, MD, MSc are among the 70 new members and 10 international members elected to the National Academy of Medicine (NAM), among the most prestigious honors in the fields of health and medicine.

Nancy Adler Honored by The New York Academy of Medicine

The New York Academy of Medicine has selected Nancy Adler, PhD, to receive the 2017 Academy Medal for Distinguished Contributions in Biomedical Science. Adler is being recognized for her pioneering work on health behavior decision-making and social determinants of health.

Laura Esserman Named to TIME 100 List of Most Influential People in the World

Time magazine has named internationally renowned breast cancer oncologist Laura Esserman, MD, MBA, to the 2016 TIME 100, the magazine’s annual list of the 100 most influential people in the world.

UCSF School of Nursing Faculty Honored as part of Mayoral Women's History Month Celebration

The UCSF School of Nursing is proud to share that Family Health Care Nursing (FHCN) volunteer faculty Martha Ryan, NP, MPH, will be honored by the San Francisco Department on the Status of Women and Mayor Edwin M. Lee on March 1.

Dr. Mary Norton: Appointed Director of the MFM Perinatal Research Program

Dr. Norton will oversee the Research Recruitment Program, foster a community of research faculty and staff, facilitate investigators’ ability to secure funding, promote early investigators’ career development, as well as diversity and inclusion.

Dr. Norton will foster all research efforts within MFM including clinical, social science, and basic science research as well as collaborations with outside divisions.

Effective May 1, 2023

Congratulations to Sara Whetstone, MD, MHS on her appointment as the Robert B. Domush, M.D., Chair in Obstetrics and Gynecology Education.


May 16, 2023

Robert B. Domush, MD, Chair in Obstetrics and Gynecology Education

This endowed chair is held by a faculty member within the Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology & Reproductive Services who has demonstrated exceptional leadership in education.

Domiciled in the Haile T. Debas Academy of Medical Educators (AME), this endowed chair is reserved exclusively for Academy members and held for a term of 5 years.